Home     Karst Hydrogeology      News      Members      Activities & Partners      Publications      Photos     Sponsors

Members

Chairman and Co-Chairs

Nico Goldscheider
Institute of Applied Geosciences: Hydrogeology
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Karlsruhe, Germany
goldscheider@kit.edu
www.agw.kit.edu


Neven Kresic
AMEC Environment and Infrastructure, Inc.
Chantilly, VA, USA
neven.kresic@amec.com
www.amec.com



Jiang Guanghui
Karst Dynamics Laboratory
Ministry of Land and Resources
Guilin, Guangxi, China
jgh@karst.edu.cn
http://www.karst.edu.cn


Members
In alphabetic order, by family names.
Note that for Chinese names, the family name comes first (e.g. you find Yuan Daoxian under Y)

Bartolomé Andreo-Navarro
Department of Geology
University of Malaga
Malaga, Spain
andreo@uma.es
http://www.cehiuma.uma.es


Augusto Auler
Instituto do Carste & Carste Consultores Associados
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
aauler@gmail.com
www.institutodocarste.org.br


Michel Bakalowicz
HydroSciences Montpellier
University Montpellier 2
Montpellier, France
michel.bakalowicz@gmail.com
http://www.hydrosciences.fr/


Timothy D. Bechtel
Enviroscan, Inc.
Lancaster, PA, USA
tbechtel@enviroscan.com
http://www.enviroscan.com



Ralf Benischke
JOANNEUM RESEARCH
Institute of Water Resources Management
Graz, Austria
ralf.benischke@joanneum.at
http://www.joanneum.at/wrm

Cristina C. Bicalho
Instituto de Geociencias
Universidade de Brasilia UnB
Brasilia, DF Brazil
ccbicalho@gmail.com
http://www.igd.unb.br/


Ognjen Bonacci
Faculty of Civil Engineering and Architecture
University of Split
Split, Croatia
obonacci@gradst.hr
http://www.gradst.hr


Cao Jianhua
Karst Dynamics Laboratory
Ministry of Land and Resources
Guilin, Guangxi, China
jhcao@karst.edu.cn
http://www.karst.edu.cn


Catherine Coxon
School of Natural Sciences
Trinity College Dublin
Dublin 2, Ireland
cecoxon@tcd.ie
http://www.tcd.ie/Geology/staff/cecoxon/index.php


David Drew
Department of Geography
Trinity College
Dublin, Ireland
ddrew@tcd.ie
http://www.tcd.ie/Geography/


ellen,Delacour‘s langur adopted endangered speciesEllen – Delacour‘s langur
Adopted KC member, endemic to karst
Endangered Primates Rescue Centre, Vietnam
www.primatecenter.org

click to enlarge photo


David Evans
Lima, Peru

david.evans.okane@gmail.com




Malcolm S. Field
Office of Research and Development
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Washington, DC, USA
field.malcolm@epa.gov



Francesco Fiorillo
Department of Biological, Geological and Environmental Sciences
University of Sannio
Benevento, Italy
francesco.fiorillo@unisannio.it
http://www.dsga.unisannio.it


Derek C. Ford
Professor Emeritus
Geography and Earth Sciences
McMaster University
Hamilton, ON, Canada
dford@mcmaster.ca


Tobias Geyer
Geowissenschaftliches Zentrum der
Universität Göttingen
Göttingen, Germany
tgeyer@gwdg.de
http://www.uni-goettingen.de/de/sh/8483.html


Nadine Goeppert
Institute for Applied Geoscience, Hydrogeology
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Karlsruhe, Germany
nadine.goeppert@kit.edu
http://www.agw.kit.edu/


Chris Groves
Hoffman Environmental Research Institute
Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, KY, USA
chris.groves@wku.edu
http://hoffman.wku.edu


John Gunn
School of Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences
University of Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
J.Gunn.1@bham.ac.uk
http://www.gees.bham.ac.uk/staff/gunnj.shtml


Andreas Hartmann
Department of Civil Engineering
University of Bristol
Bristol, United Kingdom
AJ.Hartmann@bristol.ac.uk
http://www.bristol.ac.uk/engineering/people/286978

Eko Haryono
Faculty of Geography
Gadjah Mada University
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
e.haryono@geo.ugm.ac.id
http://geo.ugm.ac.id/


He Shiyi
Karst Dynamics Laboratory
Ministry of Land and Resources
Guilin, Guangxi, China
hsych66@163.com
http://www.karst.edu.cn


Pierre-Yves Jeannin
Swiss Institute of Speleology and Karstology
La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland
Pierre-Yves.jeannin@isska.ch
www.isska.ch



Igor Jemcov
Department of Hydrogeology
Faculty of Mining and Geology
Belgrade University, Serbia
igor.jemcov@rgf.bg.ac.rs
www.rgf.bg.ac.yu/dhg

Herve JourdeHervé Jourde
Department of HydroSciences and GeoSciences
University of Montpellier 2
Montpellier, France
herve.jourde@univ-montp2.fr
http://www.hydrosciences.org/


Jiang Yongjun
College of Geography
Southwest University
Beibei, Chongqing, China
jiangjyj@swu.edu.cn
http://www.swu.edu.cn

Gregor Kovačič
University of Primorska
Science and Research Centre of Koper
Koper, Slovenia
gregor.kovacic@fhs.upr.si
http://www.fhs.upr.si


Neno Kukurić
IGRAC - global groundwater centre
The Netherlands
info@igrac.net
http://www.igrac.net



James W. LaMoreaux
PE LaMoreaux & Associates, Inc.
Tuscaloosa, AL, USA
jlamoreaux@pela.com
http://www.pela.com/



Liu Zaihua
State Key Laboratory of Environmental Geochemistry
Institute of Geochemistry, CAS
Guiyang, China
liuzaihua@vip.gyig.ac.cn
http://www.gyig.ac.cn:8080/english/


Judit Mádl-Szőnyi
Dept. of Physical and Applied Geology
Eötvös Loránd University
Budapest, Hungary
szjudit@ludens.elte.hu
http://applied.geology.elte.hu

Barbara J. Mahler
U.S. Geological Survey
Austin, TX, USA
bjmahler@usgs.gov
http://tx.usgs.gov/



Peter Malik
Dpt. of Hydrogeology & Geothermal Energy
Geological Survey of Slovak Republic
Bratislava, Slovakia
peter.malik@geology.sk
http://www.geology.sk/


Nicolas Massei
Department of Geology
University of Rouen
Mont Saint Aignan, France
nicolas.massei@univ-rouen.fr
http://www.univ-rouen.fr/M2C/
 

Lou Maurice
British Geological Survey
Wallingford, United Kingdom
loma@bgs.ac.uk
http://www.bgs.ac.uk/staff/profiles/7955.html 


Petar Milanovic
President of Serbian IAH Chapter
Belgrade, Serbia
Petar.mi@EUnet.rs




Jacques Mudry
Faculty of Sciences & Techniques
University of Franche-Comté
Besancon, France
jacques.mudry@univ-fcomte.fr
http://chrono-environnement.univ-fcomte.fr/


Iancu Orăşeanu
Romanian Association of Hydrogeologists
Bucharest, Romania
ianora@hotmail.com
http://www.ahgr.ro


Arthur N. Palmer
Professor Emeritus
Department of Earth Sciences
State University of New York
Oneonta, NY, USA
palmeran@oneonta.edu


Grant Pearce
Aquifertec
Glencoe, South Australia
Email: admin@aquifertec.com.au




Metka Petric
Karst Research Institute SRC SASA
Postojna, Slovenia
petric@zrc-sazu.si
http://kras.zrc-sazu.si



Ezzat Raeisi
Department of Geosciences
Shiraz University
Shiraz, Iran
e_raeisi@yahoo.mail
www.shirazu.ac.ir/EN/


Nataša Ravbar
Karst Research Institute SRC SASA
Postojna, Slovenia
natasa.ravbar@zrc-sazu.si
http://kras.zrc-sazu.si/



Geary Schindel
Chief Technical Officer
Edwards Aquifer Authority
San Antonio, Texas, USA
gschindel@edwardsaquifer.org
http://edwardsaquifer.org/


Zoran Stevanovic
Department of Hydrogeology
University of Belgrade
Belgrade, Serbia
zstev_2000@yahoo.co.uk
www.rgf.bg.ac.rs/dhg


George Veni
National Cave and Karst Research Institute
Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
gveni@nckri.org
www.nckri.org



Vu Thi Minh Nguyet
Center for Karst and Cave Studies
Institute of Geological Sciences (IGS)
Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology (VAST)
nguyetvuminh@yahoo.com
http://www.igsvn.ac.vn


Stephen Worthington
Worthington Groundwater
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
sw@worthingtongroundwater.com
http://www.worthingtongroundwater.com



Yuan Daoxian
Karst Dynamics Laboratory
Ministry of Land and Resources
Guilin, Guangxi, China
dxyuan@karst.edu.cn
http://www.karst.edu.cn


Zhang Cheng
Karst Dynamics Laboratory
Ministry of Land and Resources
Guilin, Guangxi, China
chzhang@karst.ac.cn
http://www.karst.edu.cn
 

How to become a Karst Commission member:

Everybody is welcome to contribute to the activities of the IAH Karst Commission. After 2-3 years of active participation, it is possible to become a member. Membership is evaluated every 3 years. Extension of membership upon application is possible for active members.



A Short History of the Karst Commission

The Karst Commission was one of the earliest of the I.A.H. Commissions to be established (in the early 1970s) with the impetus coming primarily from Mediterranean countries or from hydrogeologists such as David Burdon. with particular experience in the Mediterranean karst. The Karst Commission was also one of the first to publish for I.A.H. (1984 onwards) and has maintained an excellent publications output ever since.

This author became a member of the Karst Commission in the early 1980s when the Commission held dedicated annual meetings at various glamorous (usually European) karst locales. The presidency of Henri Paloc of B.R.G.M. was particularly memorable for endless vinous Commission lunches under the Mediterranean sun and possibly also productive karstic discussions although I remember little of that...

Phil LaMoreaux (USGS and later P.E. Lamoreaux and Associates) was a leading light in the Commission, initiating the sequence of Annotated karst Bibliography publications. Later the presidency was mysteriously downgraded to Chairman, and Bill Back (USGS) held the position for many years, organising a memorable field trip for the Commission to the Yucatan karst of Mexico. Sadly both Phil and Bill died in 2008. Also prominent in the 1980-90s were Jacques Avias of France, Boris Mijatovic of (then) Yugoslavia, Andre Burger of Neuchâtel University, Switzerland, and Heinz Hötzl, Germany. Throughout its history the Karst Commission has benefited by leadership from Europe and America and by leaders and members who were drawn from Governmental, academic and consultancy backgrounds.

David Drew, 26 January 2009


©: IAH Karst Commission 2009 - 2013 l contact: goldscheider@kit.edu l impressum: N. Goldscheider & N. Kresic
webdesign: www.biothemen.de